Dalglish's season has been defined by pig-headed support of the indefensible, and in his press conference after Liverpool's shambolic 2-0 defeat to Newcastle, he was at it again. When asked if he'd be having a word with Carroll about the dive - for which he was booked - Dalglish claimed:
"I don't think he [Carroll] went down deliberately to try and get a penalty. If you watch it, he was struggling to stay upright when he was running onto it. He said he never went down deliberately; he just stumbled over".
Stumbled? If you believe that you'll believe anything. It was as clear-cut a deliberate dive as you're likely to see:
That wasn't the funniest part of the interview though. When he was asked about Danny Simpson's alleged hand-ball on the line, Dalglish - without a hint of irony - said:
"You'd have to go to vision express if you think that wasn't a penalty kick. We never got it; maybe we're not vocal enough with referees, I don't know".
Vision Express? Clearly, it's Dalglish who needs glasses if he doesn't think Carroll dived. Of course, I don't expect Kenny to admit one of his players cheated, but to go the other way and try to convince people that Carroll just fell over? That's just silly.